Saturday, December 12, 2009

Genuine believers are new creations. They are changed forever and, therefore, these deeply desire the pure milk of God’s Word to be taught them. Why? This transforms them into more mature Christians through the renewing of their minds (Romans 12:1-2). (taken from What Are Your Motives? by Mike Ratliff)

Alistair Begg On The Manhattan Declaration

The release of The Manhattan Declaration (an ecumenical document addressing the issues of life, marriage, and religious liberty) has already generated significant discussion.  Since I have been on the receiving end of many questions concerning it, I thought it best to address it directly.  The declaration reads in part as follows:

“We are Christians who have joined together across historical lines of ecclesial differences… …to speak and act in defense of these truths.”

I was present at the meetings in Manhattan in October when the draft of this document was presented.
I listened carefully and was stirred by the ensuing discussions.
I share the concerns expressed in the document.
I also have respect for those who wrote the paper and also for many who have subsequently signed it.

Why then have I chosen not to append my name as one of the initial signers?

My Soul Waits For The Lord

by Chris Roberts

My Soul Waits For The Lord Devotion

I wait for the Lord, my soul waits, and in his word I hope; my soul waits for the Lord more than watchmen for the morning, more than watchmen for the morning. O Israel, hope in the Lord! For with the Lord there is steadfast love, and with him is plentiful redemption. And he will redeem Israel from all his iniquities.
Psalm 130:3-8

The Christmas season is upon us. Also known as the season of Advent, this is the time of year when the people of God look forward to the coming of Christ. There are two ways we wait and watch. In the first, more traditional way, we celebrate his first coming, the birth of Jesus Christ, God in the flesh. In the second way we celebrate with hope and joy the promise that he will one day return. Whether we look back or whether we look forward, we look to Christ.

Humans are not good at waiting. An old picture shows a child on his knees saying his evening prayers, “God give me patience, and I want it now!” But the Advent season is all about waiting and trusting while Christmas day is about celebrating promises fulfilled. We know that we have not yet received all of God’s promises. One day he will eradicate all sickness and pain and suffering and injustice. Sin will be no more. Until that day we must wait and trust.

Nurture your soul in the promises of the Lord. Delight in God so that you can cry out with the Psalmist, “My soul waits for the Lord! More than the watchmen wait for morning, I wait for the coming of my Lord!” But while you wait, trust. Hope in the Lord. Do not despair and turn aside to the enticements of the world but keep your eyes fixed on the Lord. Know that with him is steadfast love and plentiful redemption. Know that he will bring redemption.

This entry was posted in Advent, Articles, devotions, Gospel, Manhattan Declaration, Quotes. Bookmark the permalink.